Garden Update 9/26/14

Life happened.  And thusly, so did some garden abuse (okay, okay, a LOT of garden abuse).  Time to get back up in the saddle.

NEW BEGINNINGS:

Some big, some small: radishes, carrots, broccoli, beets, kale, chard, are surviving surprisingly well.

Some big, some small: radishes, carrots, broccoli, beets, kale, chard, are surviving surprisingly well.

I’m actually quite surprised as to how well the seedlings have faired given the lack of watering and rain.  The radishes, beans, peas (snow and sugar snap), kale and carrots in particular have held their own in this gardener caused drought.  Swiss chard and beets have sustained some bug eating damage, so I will likely try to reseed some of those soon.  I’m hoping to finish seeding the first bed in the next 2 weeks and get that 2nd bed cleared out and ready for it’s own new adventures in growing.

To really make me feel like I’m not being a totally bad garden mommy though, my asparagus beans have started to bud.  I can’t wait to see what they are like.  Already so much larger than the haricot verts flowers. Very exciting!

MAGIC IN THE MIDDLE:

tall okra

The 6-7 ft tall Clemson Spineless Okra

Okra LOVES abuse.  Of all the things I’ve planted, they really have flourished in this lack of attention.  If I turn my back for even a second, huge monster okra are ready for harvesting.  Not to mention that the plants are WAY bigger than I anticipated.  The packet said 4 ft, but these are well over 6 feet and possibly even closing in on 7 feet tall.  Note to self: plant okra where you least water next year but where they won’t overshadow anything else.

THE UGLY:

Pepper plants are getting weirdly leggy and while they are trying to flower again, I’m probably going to remove them to get on to my next crop.  Tomato plants are finished.  That being said, despite both of these looking rough and needing to come out, they have shared quite a lovely supply with us (24 peppers and 36 heirloom tomatoes).  For my first year of growing, I can be happy with that.  Oops, no photo, sorry!

HARVEST:

latest harvest

Tomatoes and okra and peppers, Oh My!

  • 56 haricot vert beans
  • 43 okra
  • 2 red peppers
  • 10 Granny Cantrell tomatoes
  • 4 Pineapple tomatoes

I had to take the tomatoes off the vine just as they started to blush because the bugs were trying to have a serious go at them here at the end of the summer.  But they ripened nicely on the counter and were turned into a lovely pasta dish.

I hope that you take away that even if you accidentally abuse your garden, it wants to try to deliver anyhow.  So when you goof, collect yourself and get back out there because there is always more yummy stuff to come!

3 thoughts on “Garden Update 9/26/14

    • Thanks Ben! That wasn’t even counting my 38 non heirloom tomatoes. Out of town this weekend, I had to buy a grocery store tomato for a sandwich…talk about a red ball of tasteless disappointment! I can’t wait to try more new types next year!

  1. Pingback: When Mom is away, the garden will play… | Lovingly Grown

Leave a Reply

