Return of the monster tomatoes!

Holy cow, they got bigger!  I am beyond excited again!  These are my first 2 Granny Cantrell tomatoes.  And so far they have not disappointed.  Especially as we have a new heavy weight monster tomato champion!

I'm pretty sure this one is actually as large as her face!

I’m pretty sure this one is actually as large as her face!

In 2 days time, I’ve harvested 2 Granny Cantrell tomatoes, totaling 3 lbs. 1.4 oz!!!!!

The very first, weighing in at 1 lb. 5.8 oz

The very first, weighing in at 1 lb. 5.8 oz

The newest heavyweight champion from my garden, tipping the scales at 1 lb. 11.6 oz!

The newest heavyweight champion from my garden, tipping the scales at 1 lb. 11.6 oz!

Over the weekend, we BLTed it up and cut into the “smaller” Pineapple tomato.  It was perfection.  Seriously sweet and delicious!  Just check out the color and meatiness of these slices!

p tom sliced

The color on some of these pineapple tomato slices is almost like a stained glass window. So elegant…and so deliciously low acid and sweet, sweet, SWEET!

I’ve started keeping a record of total tomato weight that each heirloom plant produces on my Harvest Counter, but in case you were wondering, my first 4 heirloom tomatoes have totaled 5 lbs 5.8 oz!!!!!  If we get anything bigger, I’ll let you know.  Have you ever grown a whopper of a tomato?  I’d love to hear how much it weighed and what type of tomato it was in my comments!

Leave a Reply

